Follows: Do they matter?

For any who have read my past blogs or personal memoirs, whatever you wish to call them, you may recall that my first ever blog was roughly a month ago.  Everything has a beginning was viewed roughly four times on the day it was published and is now up to eleven views.  As my first ever blog post and the fact that I was new to social media the low number of views is not that surprising to me and subsequent posts have not netted much in the way of views either.  While I do plan on touching on that particular subject, later on, the focus of this post is not solely on views but will address the concept of “Follows” and whether or not they actually matter.

Anyone who has entered into the world of social media understands what a “follow” is and what it is conceptually designed to do.  However, in hopes of clarifying my thought process allow me to give my interpretation of the word as it pertains to social media platforms.  To “follow” someone, you are more or less subscribing (free version) to their thoughts, ideas, and creations.  By hitting that button, you have told them that you want to be updated whenever they decide to post something new on social media.  That is all, nothing more or less.  Now a “follow” comes in different forms depending on the social media platform, but for this post, I will focus primarily on WordPress, Twitter, Twitch, YouTube, and Vidme.  Now YouTube, in particular, uses the term “subscriber” the same way that the others use “follow”, in that you are willing to see what the individuals have to offer in the way of content, but you are not going to pay for it.  However, on Twitch a “subscriber” is an individual who is paying you for a service.  Hopefully, I have not lost you yet with all the specifics, but I believe the technicalities are important to the message.

When I first began creating videos on YouTube publically, I had a grand total of two subscribers (friends) and would only receive views from those two individuals, one of which who would never remember to “like” my video.  So, in hopes of gaining additional subscribers, I joined Twitter.  After a couple of weeks, my Twitter account rose to just over twenty followers, but my YouTube subscriber base remained the same.  I then joined a forum for aspiring YouTubers called YTtalk and began interacting with that community and posting links to my videos there.  My posts would receive “views” but my channel only received one additional subscriber and my video view count did not go up by very much at all.  So, in hopes of expanding my outreach further, I created my blog site, joined an active community on Twitter called TeamEmmmmsie, and began posting my videos on Google+, Tumblr, and Vidme.  As I type this, I realize that I should probably link all my sites as a way of further promotion, but in hopes of not coming off as too self-centered, I will not.  Anyway, I hoped that after everything, I would begin to see progress.  Guess what?  I did, but not in the way I expected.

My Twitter account has exploded (in my view) to over 350 followers, my Twitch account (that I do not use) has 41 followers, my blog currently has 7 followers, Vidme account has 27 followers and my YouTube channel now has 17 subscribers.  Now, I am not going to say that I am unhappy with the changes as I am quite pleased.  Is it the growth of others, certainly not, but I am happy with the changes for a particular reason.  For me, it is my YouTube view count versus my subscriber count.  The majority of my videos has a positive view to subscriber ratio which is important to me in that it potentially means that my subscriber base actually watches my videos.  Is it possible that only a few subscribers watch the videos and the rest are from external sources?  Yes, and is most likely the case, but I that is only an assumption.  So why is that important to me?  Its importance and whether or not “follows” matter are identical.

If I have 17 subscribers on YouTube and my video gets close to that number of views, then I have (in concept) provided the entertainment to those who have freely asked to receive it. Now, they did not “like” the video, but I do not judge any video by the “like” or “dislike” option as it is not a wholly reliable source.  So, you are likely asking why I believe having a fairly even subscriber to view ratio is relevant.  Allow me to further explain.  If you have a subscriber or follower base of 1000 people, yet the videos, streams, or blogs you produce see only a small fraction of that in views, then exactly what is their purpose?  An inactive follower or subscriber is dead space.  This excludes “Twitch subscribers” who are paying customers, so if they are paying a monthly fee to never watch your stream then so be it.  Now, here is the rub.  For some individuals, not all mind you, the “follow” or subscriber number is the goal because sadly it has the possibility to attract new followers/subscribers.  I call this the herd mentality.  For instance, if someone sees a group of people standing in line at the door of a store, they will simply assume it is the waiting line to enter the store.  Sure, some will ask the last person in line if they are waiting to enter, but a vast majority will simply follow those already standing there, hence the herd mentality.  So, if someone sees a new YouTube video posted and the person who posted it has thousands of subscribers/followers, then they will simply assume that the person has great videos or streams and will click on that video over the one made by the individual who has less than a dozen subscribers/followers.

This type of thinking is why you often see “Sub 4 Sub” or “Follow 4 Follow” messages floating around.  Now, this does not mean that everyone who has hundreds or thousands of followers/subscribers and minimal views has gained their base by such practices, nor is it a way of trashing them.  I am just pointing out what I have seen during my short tenure. So, to provide an official answer to the question of whether or not follows matter?  Yes and no.  I know that is not the answer you were wanting because we all know that draws are horrible and that there should always be a clear winner, but in this case, it is truly up to the individual.  For some, the tally is the goal, even if the number is not a direct reflection of support.  As for me, and others I am sure, the tally is great but would certainly prefer to have my follower/subscriber number accurately reflect the support received.  Now, does this mean that I would delete my accounts if I suddenly received hundreds and thousands of followers/subscribers?  No!  I would welcome them all and hope that in time they would all enjoy the content I provide.

 

11 thoughts on “Follows: Do they matter?

  1. I know I’m particularly bad about likes on YouTube videos, as well as subscribing to people. My YouTube channel for instance is used almost exclusively to host videos that I’ve put up on posts in WordPress (since WordPress video hosting is a paid thing).

    Personally, me following someone means I enjoy what they create, or want to see where they’re going. There are many people I follow on here for instance, but they’re only sites or blogs that I find interesting. I peruse my Reader feed every day pretty much to see what everyone’s posting, and will deliberately click through to access their site to give them a view (since viewing posts in the Reader doesn’t seem to contribute to views). In that sense, me following someone benefits them because I have constant updates on their content, and can see when they make new posts.

    I’ve been rather old school with my Twitter and WordPress accounts so far. I’ve never subscribed to the notion of one-for-one subscribing or following people on social media because I don’t see subscribes or likes as useful if they aren’t genuine. There’s a good summary of why I don’t worry about it so much on Veritasium’s channel on YouTube, titled: Facebook Fraud (won’t put link because it will flag this as spam). Me having hundreds of subs or follows means nothing to me if the engagement is low.

    That’s why I’m not worried about my paltry 70ish follows on Twitter, or my 90ish follows on WordPress.

    But that’s just me. I followed you on here because I like what I’ve seen, and I’m interested in hearing more from you anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I appreciate the follow! I’ll try and check out the Facebook Fraud, and I agree on the purpose of following. If I see something I like, I’ll hit the button in hopes of more in the future.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. If you think about it, real life is pretty similar. There are people who want to look good by having many “friends”. It’s just more prevalent on the internet because it’s easier to pull it off here.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. For me it’s quality over quantity. Most of the “followers” of my blog are bots trying to tell me how to make easy money from home (WordPress’s auto spam moderator is a blessing by the way). I just enjoy interacting with great people around the world, and that’s truly all that matters to me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

